Minimum Wage Violations
There are two separate minimum wages under federal law and under state law. Under federal law, employers currently must pay their employees at least $7.25 per hour as minimum wage. No employer can pay less than the federal minimum wage.
State law can require employers to pay more than the federal minimum wage. In Minnesota, the minimum wage is $9.65 per hour. Because the state minimum wage is greater than federal minimum wage, Minnesota employees must be paid at least $9.65 per hour. In Minnesota, this amount will increase over time.
Smaller employers, though, must only pay $7.87 per hour. A small employer is defined as one with an annual gross revenue of less than $500,000. Several cities, such as Minneapolis and St. Paul, have even higher minimum wage requirements.
If you are doing work for your employer, you must be paid the minimum wage. This includes time worked “off the clock.” It also includes time that your employer may ask you to work in exchange for something other than money (like store credit or a gift card).
If you have not been paid the minimum wage, you may be able to bring a claim to recover your unpaid wages, statutory penalties, attorney’s fees, costs, and interest. Contact Teske, Katz, Kitzer & Rochel to learn more.